Parallel queries – maximum parallel connections to database for a user
Query timeout (s) – maximum number of seconds the connection waits for a response from the database
Click "Save" button. The "Test" button next to it validates the connection before saving. Test is not offered before the first save for Power BI, BigQuery, Salesforce, SharePoint, Tableau, SAP BusinessObjects and custom connections - for those, save first and test the saved connection.
New connection will appear on the list and connection status will show if connection was successful
Adding additional database users
The platform supports configuring additional database users to be used for querying results and seeing results of past executions. The use case for this is if you want to limit some users of the platform to not have access to data that is reachable with the master user configured for the connection.
Additional database users can be configured for existing connections through a menu accessible via the settings button on the right of a connection's master user's username.
Each additional database user will apply for a selection of user roles. The additional database users are ordered, meaning that for querying data, the database user with the highest rank will be chosen that is applicable for the user's roles.
In the example above, if a user has the roles Analyst and Developer, then their queries through the platform will be executed using the database user postgres. If another user has roles steward and maintenance, then for them the database user analyst will be used.
If no match is found from the additional users list, then the master user of the connection will be used for executions.
Users with no roles will be skipped when looking for a matching database user.
The database users can be re-ordered by holding and dragging the handle on the left of each row.
Sample connections
Properties (All are required)
transportMode=http - HTTP transport mode for Databricks SQL Warehouse
From opened window click "Delete" button and confirm. If the connection has profilings, the confirmation warns about them being deleted as well.
Metadata
Metadata is used to automatically create test cases, generate SQLs and manage Profiling. Metadata can be managed by clicking on a specific connection:
Adding Metadata
Pick schemas from the schema selector (the refresh button next to it re-reads the available schemas from the database; custom schemas can be typed in and added one at a time):
Click the "Add selected" button to import the picked schemas
Metadata should now be available Additions and changes to objects and columns are synced automatically when the schema has a schedule assigned.
If the "Delete" flag is enabled for a schema, then object and column removals from the database are automatically synced.
Metadata can also be manually updated or deleted by selecting schemas and clicking "Sync selected" or "Delete selected" button. If a sync takes longer, it continues in the background and the pending schemas are marked accordingly.
Disabling objects
Sometimes we need to disable metadata loading for certain objects in the schema to avoid sensitive metadata being usable for all users
Hover over the schema which objects you wish to exclude
Click on the icon
Use the search filter to quickly find specific objects by name
Choose all objects you wish to Exclude/Include (You can use Shift+Click to choose multiple checkboxes)
NB! When you re-include an excluded object, metadata will be loaded again for given schema
Scheduling Metadata
Metadata can be scheduled to run on a custom schedule on schema level.
Alerts - subscribe to alerts about the schema's metadata syncs
Schedule - assign schedule to schema sync and see last/next sync time. Schemas without a schedule are not synced automatically
Delete - Enable if metadata sync should be able to delete missing columns caused by schema drift
Users can upload CSV and Excel files directly to application internal storage for easier access. Uploaded files are encrypted at rest.
Uploading a file
The button is found in the Connections page toolbar
Files are uploaded/downloaded from the same view. Select the folder to upload into — the "Upload to" hint shows the active target. Hovering a file reveals its download and delete actions.
Creating and editing folder
New root folders are created with the "New folder" button; hovering an existing folder reveals a plus icon for creating subfolders. Folders and files can also be dragged to a new location.
To edit or delete existing folder hover on folder and click pencil icon. Deleting a folder asks whether its contents move up a level or are deleted with it.
Using stored files in CSV connection
Set up a new CSV connection
Connector – Choose CSV connector
Connection name – Any custom name for CSV group
Storage/Path – Location for CSV files
Properties – Default separator for CSV is "," which can be changed based input files